The city of Eagle came to be when gold was discovered there in 1862.  In 1970 there were 350 people living there.  Eagle has grown to a current population of 20,000.  The township was first farmed by Truman Catlin and Polete Mace.  Catlin built the first irrigation ditch there in 1864.  By 1903, the nine major irrigation canals were constructed to irrigate the 700 acres of Eagle.  Perhaps the most influential settler was Thomas Aikens, a surveyor from Nova Scotia.  He bought acreage on Eagle Island and on Valley Road (now State Street).  He petitioned Ada County to build a bridge joining his holdings.  He was challenged by the city of Star but emerged the victor by hiring a touring carriage to transport the voters at the Old Soldiers Home to the polls and providing them with a fancy picnic.  So the Eagle Island Bridge was built, followed by a school in 1900, a grocery store in 1902, and a high school in 1904.  The township was officially named “Eagle” by Aikens’ daughter Clara for the large number of bald eagles that made their home on Eagle Island.  In 1907, Eagle was connected to the rest of Ada County by the interurban trolley, which lead to an economic boom for the town.  In 1916, L.B. Harris opened the Eagle Drug Store and in 1920, Orville Jackson opened a general store.  Downtown Eagle was anchored by a bank (now DaVinci’s restaurant) and a 16 room mansion owned by Aikens (now commercial office space). Boise Valley Packing Company opened a food processing plant there which operated for 76 years and the Creamery of Meridian opened a cheese factory there as well.  In 1930, the state opened the Eagle Island Prison Farm and in 1937 the Fish & Game department opened a fish hatchery next door to the prison farm.  In 1963 the Eagle Public Library was opened.  Eagle was officially incorporated into Ada County as a new city in 1971 with its city council meetings held in the library.  The Eagle Historical Museum opened in 2001 and highlights the community’s grand spot on the Idaho landscape.